Goodbye Without Leaving

Goodbye Without Leaving


By Laurie Colwin

Geraldine Coleshares, former backup singer for Ruby Shakely and the Shakettes, muddles through marriage, motherhood, and employment while struggling t...

Book Info
A Big Storm Knocked it Over

A Big Storm Knocked it Over


By Laurie Colwin

In her fifth and final novel, acclaimed author Laurie Colwin explores marriage and friendship, motherhood and careers, as experienced by a cast of del...

Book Info
The Lone Pilgrim

The Lone Pilgrim


By Laurie Colwin

This collection of stories about love and privacy is serious, funny, tender, and alive with the elegance and spirit that characterise Laurie Colwin's ...

Book Info
Happy All the Time

Happy All the Time


By Laurie Colwin

A modern classic first published in 1978 that is as much a sophisticated romantic comedy about the love between two partners as it is a novel about th...

Book Info
Family Happiness

Family Happiness


By Laurie Colwin

A heartfelt novel about a midlife crisis and a woman tired of beingtaken for granted—and a reminder that family, like happiness, can take many forms...

Book Info
Passion and Affect

Passion and Affect


By Laurie Colwin

Within these fourteen hilarious and insightful tales of urban life, you'll meet: Raiford Phelps, an ornithologist who discovers new patterns of animal...

Book Info
Another Marvelous Thing

Another Marvelous Thing


By Laurie Colwin

Josephine “Billy” Delielle and Francis Clemens are happily married—just not to each other. Another Marvelous Thing is the story of their affair,...

Book Info
Home Cooking

Home Cooking


By Laurie Colwin

Published for the first time in the UK, Laurie Colwin's much loved kitchen essays are perfect for fans of Nigella Lawson and Nigel Slater. Weaving tog...

Book Info
Shine on, Bright and Dangerous Object

Shine on, Bright and Dangerous Object


By Laurie Colwin

When Sam Bax, that charming daredevil of a Boston lawyer, sails his boat into a storm off the coast of Maine, Elizabeth 'Olly' Bax, his wife and arden...

Book Info
More Home Cooking

More Home Cooking


By Laurie Colwin

With a new foreword by Deb Perelman of Smitten Kitchen, the triumphant sequel to Home Cooking by “a home cook, like you and me, whose charm and lack...

Book Info
Another Marvellous Thing

Another Marvellous Thing


By Laurie Colwin

Billy and Francis couldn't be more different, at least when it comes to age and disposition, but that doesn't prevent them from falling in love and se...

Book Info
Leave the Rice on the Windowsill

Leave the Rice on the Windowsill


By Abu B. Rafique

A collection of six different short stories. Each dealing with different characters of varying ages in different situations....

Book Info
Long Goodbye

Long Goodbye


By Artemy Kalinovsky

Why did the USSR linger so long in Afghanistan? What makes this account of the Soviet-Afghan conflict both timely and important is its focus on the fa...

Book Info
It's Time to Say Goodbye

It's Time to Say Goodbye


By Jack Stubberfield

This story starts in the summer of 1958. The protagonists, Kate and Ned, eleven and twelve years old, meet and become friends in the tiny community of...

Book Info
Hellenistic Inter-state Political Ethics and the Emergence of the Jewish State

Hellenistic Inter-state Political Ethics and the Emergence of the Jewish State


By Doron Mendels

Against the background of a reconstructed inter-state ethical code, the rise of the Hasmoneans,Judea's ruling dynasty, is given a new perspective. Dor...

Book Info
Repairs

Repairs


By Patrick Brandt

Grammatical structures connect systems of thought and articulation, the conditions of which hardly seem to fit each other. Repairs are productive mech...

Book Info
Loving the Tasmanian Devil

Loving the Tasmanian Devil


By Maureen McCarthy Bartlett

Having a partner with ASD can feel like a roller-coaster ride for the neurotypical spouse -- In sharing the ups, the downs, the growth, and the regres...

Book Info
Blessed Beyond Measure

Blessed Beyond Measure


By Pat Miller

Emily Wright faces more challenges in her young marriage when her husband, Matthew, leaves Colorado to fight in the Civil War. Living alone on the hom...

Book Info