Here, Home, Hope

Here, Home, Hope


Author : Kaira Rouda
Publisher : Greenleaf Book Group
Release Date :
ISBN : 1608321363
Pages : 274 pages
Rating Book: 4.0/5 (68 users)

Go Book

Kelly Mills Johnson becomes restless in her thirty-ninth year. An appetite for more forces her to take stock of her middling middle-American existence and her neighbors' seemingly perfect lives. Her marriage to a successful attorney has settled into a comfortable routine, and being the mother of two adorable sons has been rewarding. But Kelly's own passions lie wasted. She eyes with envy the lives of her two best friends, Kathryn and Charlotte, both beautiful, successful businesswomen who seem to have it all. Kelly takes charge of her life, devising a midlife makeover plan. From page one, Kelly's witty reflections, self-deprecating humor, and clever tactics in executing that plan-she places Post-it notes all over her house and car-will have readers laughing out loud. The next instant, however, they might rant right along with Kelly as her commitment to a sullen, anorexic teenager left on her doorstep tries her patience or as she deflects the boozy advances of a divorced neighbor. Readers will need to keep the tissue box handy, too, as Kelly repairs the damage she inflicted on a high school friend; realizes how deeply her husband, Patrick, understands and loves her; and ultimately grows into a woman empowered by her own blend of home and career. Here, Home, Hope will surely appeal to readers of chick lit and other women's fiction titles who are ready to transition into something new in their own life.


Scottish Feminist Judgments

Scottish Feminist Judgments


Author : Sharon Cowan
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
Release Date :
ISBN : 1509923276
Pages : 472 pages
Rating Book: 4.0/5 (59 users)

Go Book

An innovative collaboration between academics, practitioners, activists and artists, this timely and provocative book rewrites 16 significant Scots law cases, spanning a range of substantive topics, from a feminist perspective. Exposing power, politics and partiality, feminist judges provide alternative accounts that bring gender equity concerns to the fore, whilst remaining bound by the facts and legal authorities encountered by the original court. Paying particular attention to Scotland's distinctive national identity, fluctuating experiences of political sovereignty, and unique legal traditions and institutions, this book contributes in a distinctive register to the emerging dialogue amongst feminist judgment projects across the globe. Its judgments address concerns not only about gender equality, but also about the interplay between gender, class, national identity and citizenship in contemporary Scotland. The book also showcases unique contributions from leading artists which, provoked by the enterprise of feminist judging, or by individual cases, offer a visceral and affective engagement with the legal. The book will be of interest to academics, practitioners and students of Scots law, policy-makers, as well as to scholars of feminist and critical theory, and law and gender, internationally.


Evangelical Christendom

Evangelical Christendom


Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.3/5 (33 users)

Go Book


Ballou's Dollar Monthly Magazine

Ballou's Dollar Monthly Magazine


Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 968 pages
Rating Book: 4.9/5 (39 users)

Go Book


House of Commons Debates

House of Commons Debates


Author : Canada. Parliament. House of Commons
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.5/5 (355 users)

Go Book


Letters to My Wife, A WWII Love Story

Letters to My Wife, A WWII Love Story


Author : Ellen Anderson
Publisher : Xlibris Corporation
Release Date :
ISBN : 1499018290
Pages : 292 pages
Rating Book: 4.9/5 (499 users)

Go Book

Letters that were found in a small cedar chest Mom saved that Dad wrote when he was in WWII. From 1942-1946 these letters tell interesting war stories & facts and a love story like no other. Dad wrote to Mom every moment that he could. Every breath & every step he took was for her. Dad was a "trailblazer" and fought on the front line in France and Germany. He was a radio man and was in charge of managing the location of his troop. This story will make you laugh and certainly make you cry. It is a truly amazing story!


The Christmas Ranch (Mills & Boon Cherish) (The Cowboys of Cold Creek, Book 13)

The Christmas Ranch (Mills & Boon Cherish) (The Cowboys of Cold Creek, Book 13)


Author : RaeAnne Thayne
Publisher : HarperCollins UK
Release Date :
ISBN : 1472048938
Pages : 224 pages
Rating Book: 4.7/5 (472 users)

Go Book

Home for Christmas. When Hope Nichols hears that her family’s property, Christmas Ranch, is set to be shut down forever, she heads home. Hope refuses to let anything ruin her favourite time of year... and, thanks to former navy SEAL Rafe Santiago and his adorable nephew, she might just pull off that miracle!


Soldiers of Fortune

Soldiers of Fortune


Author : Richard Harding Davis
Publisher : Broadview Press
Release Date :
ISBN : 1460401751
Pages : 269 pages
Rating Book: 4.6/5 (46 users)

Go Book

A romance of America's nascent imperial power, Richard Harding Davis's Soldiers of Fortune recounts the adventures of Robert Clay, a mining engineer and sometime mercenary, and Hope Langham, the daughter of a wealthy American industrialist, as they become caught up in a coup in Olancho, a fictional Latin American republic. When the coup, organized by corrupt politicians and generals, threatens the American-owned Valencia Mining Company, Clay organizes his workers and the handful of Americans visiting the mine into a counter-coup force. Written on the eve of the Spanish-American War, Soldiers of Fortune casts the young American as the dashing, hypermasculine hero of the new military and economic imperium. A huge best-seller, the novel did its part to push the nation into war against Spain, and stands as one of the most important texts in the literature of American imperialism. The appendices, which bring together primary materials by writers and politicians such as Rebecca Harding Davis, Theodore Roosevelt, Jose Martí, Mark Twain, Herbert Spencer, and others, address such issues as social Darwinism, masculinity, and ideas of Anglo-American superiority.


All the Year Round

All the Year Round


Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 632 pages
Rating Book: 4.S/5 ( users)

Go Book


The Sunday at Home

The Sunday at Home


Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.9/5 (39 users)

Go Book


Glen

Glen


Author : Samuel Richardson
Publisher : Lulu.com
Release Date :
ISBN : 1257955861
Pages : 332 pages
Rating Book: 4.5/5 (257 users)

Go Book

Biography of Glen Orrin Richardson, son of Justin V. and Hortense Earl Richardson, compiled by Hope R. Barrowes. Cover design and book layout by Samuel Richardson, owner of Silver Storm Imaging and Printing. Contains Glen's journal entries, letters he's written and his achievements. Also contains writing to or about him by his family and friends. Included is a scrapbook of his life.


Appletons' Journal

Appletons' Journal


Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.O/5 ( users)

Go Book


Reports of Proceedings ...

Reports of Proceedings ...


Author : Boston (Mass.). City Council
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.9/5 (39 users)

Go Book


The Post office [afterw.] Kellys directory of Birmingham with its suburbs (and Smethwick).

The Post office [afterw.] Kellys directory of Birmingham with its suburbs (and Smethwick).


Author : Kelly's directories, ltd
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 856 pages
Rating Book: 4.D/5 ( users)

Go Book


The Masonic Harp

The Masonic Harp


Author : George Wingate Chase
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 172 pages
Rating Book: 4.3/5 (31 users)

Go Book


Flesh and Bones-Sermons

Flesh and Bones-Sermons


Author : A K M Adam
Publisher : Wipf and Stock Publishers
Release Date :
ISBN : 1579107672
Pages : 110 pages
Rating Book: 4.7/5 (579 users)

Go Book

The Gospel comes to us in an inexhaustible variety of ways: in reading Scripture and praying together, in thinking hard and arguing in faithful community, in the Holy Spirit and in flesh and bone. These sermons engage heart and mind, all of the senses (including our senses of humor and tragedy), and the real lives of real congregations, to proclaim a thoughtful, embodied vision of the gospel of Jesus Christ.


The Bell House

The Bell House


Author : Ruth Hamilton
Publisher : Random House
Release Date :
ISBN : 1446436888
Pages : 544 pages
Rating Book: 4.4/5 (446 users)

Go Book

This heart-wrenching, moving and emotional saga full of twists and turns and highlighting the importance of love and understanding by the Sunday Times bestselling author Ruth Hamilton is a must - read for fans of Catherine Cookson, Dilly Court and Josephine Cox. "I believe that Ruth Hamilton is very much the successor to Catherine Cookson. Her books are plot driven, they just rip along; laughs, weeps, love, they've got the lot, and they're quality writing as well" -- SARAH BROADHURST, RADIO FOUR "This book kept me enthralled to the very last page" -- ***** Reader review "A riveting read. Couldn't put it down." -- ***** Reader review "As always an impeccable story by Ruth, sadness, happiness and in between hilarious wit. A must read book which you will be loathe to put down." -- ***** Reader review "A truly superb book" -- ***** Reader review **************************************************************************** WILL ONE FRIENDSHIP CHANGE THINGS FOREVER? Despite her strict 1950s Catholic upbringing, Madeleine Horrocks, doesn't understand why religion seems to force people apart. But her friend Amy has been brought up to believe that mixing with other religions results in eternal damnation, and when Maddy becomes friendly with George, a local, good-looking Jewish boy, Amy fears the worst. But as they grow up she, too, becomes friends with George, as well as with other young teenagers who meet secretly at the Bell House, an ancient place of burial. When a body is found in the nearby reservoir they all become threatened by tragedy and danger. Meanwhile, Father Sheahan, the whisky-soaked priest from the local church, has discovered that his secret past is catching up with him. Bigotry, lust and hatred have been so much a part of this community that it takes the combined forces of young and old - and particularly George's formidable grandmother Yuspeh - to bring everyone together and move forward positively.