Tudor and Stuart Consorts

Tudor and Stuart Consorts


Author : Aidan Norrie
Publisher : Springer Nature
Release Date :
ISBN : 3030951979
Pages : 383 pages
Rating Book: 4.3/5 (3 users)

Go Book

This book examines the lives and tenures of all the consorts of the Tudor and Stuart monarchs of England between 1485 and 1714, as well as the wives of the two Lords Protector during the Commonwealth. The figures in Tudor and Stuart Consorts are both incredibly familiar—especially the six wives of Henry VIII—and exceedingly unfamiliar, such as George of Denmark, the husband of Queen Anne. These innovative and authoritative biographies recognise the important role consorts played in a period before constitutional monarchy: in addition to correcting popular assumptions that are based on limited historical evidence, the chapters provide a fuller picture of the role of consort that goes beyond discussions of exceptionalism and subversion. This volume and its companions reveal the changing nature of English consortship from the Norman Conquest to today.


Medieval Clothing and Textiles

Medieval Clothing and Textiles


Author : Robin Netherton
Publisher : Boydell & Brewer Ltd
Release Date :
ISBN : 1843833662
Pages : 227 pages
Rating Book: 4.4/5 (843 users)

Go Book

The best new research on medieval clothing and textiles, drawing from a range of disciplines and with a special focus on reconstruction.


The English and Scottish Popular Ballads

The English and Scottish Popular Ballads


Author : Francis James Child
Publisher : Courier Corporation
Release Date :
ISBN : 0486145891
Pages : 640 pages
Rating Book: 4.8/5 (486 users)

Go Book

This 19th-century collection compiles all the extant ballads with all known variants and features Child's commentaries. Includes Parts IX and X of the original set — ballads 266-305 — plus indexes, glossary.


The Mercantile navy list. 1848 [4 issues], 49 [2 issues], 50-53,57-61,64-71,80,81,92-1939

The Mercantile navy list. 1848 [4 issues], 49 [2 issues], 50-53,57-61,64-71,80,81,92-1939


Author : Trade Board of
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.D/5 ( users)

Go Book


British Humanities Index

British Humanities Index


Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.9/5 (39 users)

Go Book


Sander's List of Orchid Hybrids

Sander's List of Orchid Hybrids


Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 914 pages
Rating Book: 4.8/5 (89 users)

Go Book


Canadian Books in Print. Author and Title Index

Canadian Books in Print. Author and Title Index


Author :
Publisher : University of Toronto Press
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.3/5 (839 users)

Go Book


An Analytical Guide to Television’s Battlestar Galactica

An Analytical Guide to Television’s Battlestar Galactica


Author : John Kenneth Muir
Publisher : McFarland
Release Date :
ISBN : 1476606560
Pages : 244 pages
Rating Book: 4.7/5 (476 users)

Go Book

When the space drama Battlestar Galactica debuted on ABC in 1978, it was expected to be the most popular new program of the year. Instead, it was attacked as a Star Wars rip-off and canceled after a mere 17 stories. The author acknowledges the show was full of dramatic clichés and scientific inaccuracies, but despite these shortcomings, Battlestar Galactica was a dramatically resonant series full of unique and individual characters, such as Commander Adama (Lorne Greene) and ace warrior Captain Apollo (Richard Hatch). The author contends that Battlestar Galactica was a memorable attempt to make science fiction accessible to mainstream television audiences. The brilliant work of artist John Dykstra brought a new world of special effects to network television. Battlestar Galactica also skillfully exploited legends and names from both the Bible and ancient mythology, which added a layer of depth and maturity to the weekly drama.


Encyclopedia of Folk Heroes

Encyclopedia of Folk Heroes


Author : Graham Seal
Publisher : ABC-CLIO
Release Date :
ISBN : 1576072169
Pages : 347 pages
Rating Book: 4.7/5 (576 users)

Go Book

Entries describe the origins and deeds of folk heroes as they have existed in folktales, songs, oral tradition, and other folklore genres.


The Sixth Wife

The Sixth Wife


Author : Jean Plaidy
Publisher : Random House
Release Date :
ISBN : 1446411672
Pages : 368 pages
Rating Book: 4.4/5 (446 users)

Go Book

Delve deep into a superb, fictionalised account of Henry VIII's sixth Queen, the mysterious Katharine Parr, written by multi-million copy and international bestselling author Jean Plaidy. This vibrant and captivating historical page-turner, perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, is guaranteed to have you hooked from page one... 'Jean Plaidy doesn't just write the history, she makes it come alive.' -- Julia Moffat, RNA 'Plaidy excels at blending history with romance and drama' -- New York Times 'Full-blooded, dramatic, exciting' - Observer 'A must read' -- ***** Reader review 'I could not put this book down once I started reading' -- ***** Reader review 'A pleasure to read' -- ***** Reader review 'She makes history come alive' -- ***** Reader review ************************************************************************************************* Katharine Parr has unwittingly become the last pawn in King Henry VIII's ambitions for an heir. Already twice widowed, Katharine finally dares to hope that she might find love with the dashing Thomas Seymour - but Henry has decided he must have a sixth wife and Seymour's intentions to marry Katharine have not gone unnoticed. Unable to refuse the King of England, Katharine becomes his reluctant bride. Once again it seems only a matter of time before another wife's fate leads her to the Tower of London. Will fate be kind to her...? The Tudor saga continues in The Thistle and the Rose.


TV Guide

TV Guide


Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.0/5 (3 users)

Go Book


New York Magazine

New York Magazine


Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 132 pages
Rating Book: 4./5 ( users)

Go Book

New York magazine was born in 1968 after a run as an insert of the New York Herald Tribune and quickly made a place for itself as the trusted resource for readers across the country. With award-winning writing and photography covering everything from politics and food to theater and fashion, the magazine's consistent mission has been to reflect back to its audience the energy and excitement of the city itself, while celebrating New York as both a place and an idea.


Merchant Vessels of the United States

Merchant Vessels of the United States


Author : United States. Coast Guard
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.3/5 (31 users)

Go Book


Catalogue of books in the Library of the Carrington Library Association, Woonsocket, R. I. With a sketch of its history ... a copy of its charter ... rules, etc

Catalogue of books in the Library of the Carrington Library Association, Woonsocket, R. I. With a sketch of its history ... a copy of its charter ... rules, etc


Author : Carrington Library Association (WOONSOCKET)
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.0/5 (1 users)

Go Book


Turner Classic Movies Presents Leonard Maltin's Classic Movie Guide

Turner Classic Movies Presents Leonard Maltin's Classic Movie Guide


Author : Leonard Maltin
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date :
ISBN : 0698197291
Pages : 864 pages
Rating Book: 4.9/5 (698 users)

Go Book

The definitive guide to classic films from one of America's most trusted film critics Thanks to Netflix and cable television, classic films are more accessible than ever. Now co-branded with Turner Classic Movies, Leonard Maltin’s Classic Movie Guide covers films from Hollywood and around the world, from the silent era through 1965, and from The Maltese Falcon to Singin’ in the Rain and Godzilla, King of the Monsters! Thoroughly revised and updated, and featuring expanded indexes, a list of Maltin’s personal recommendations, and three hundred new entries—including many offbeat and obscure films—this new edition is a must-have companion for every movie lover.


American Book Publishing Record Cumulative 1950-1977

American Book Publishing Record Cumulative 1950-1977


Author : R.R. Bowker Company
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 26175 pages
Rating Book: 4.9/5 (39 users)

Go Book


Merchant Vessels of the United States

Merchant Vessels of the United States


Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.3/5 (31 users)

Go Book