Lavender Road (Lavender Road 1)

Lavender Road (Lavender Road 1)


Author : Helen Carey
Publisher : Hachette UK
Release Date :
ISBN : 1472231473
Pages : 384 pages
Rating Book: 4.7/5 (472 users)

Go Book

World War II has begun. As war rages, and the evacuation of Dunkirk approaches, the women of south London have their own battles to fight. Helen Carey's LONDON ROAD is a compelling novel perfect for fans of Lilian Harry, Kate Thompson and Annie Murray. September 1939 As the nation braces itself for war, the residents of Lavender Road are dealing with troubles of their own. With her husband in jail, Joyce Carter is never sure where her family's next meal will come from. And her troublesome daughter, Jen, isn't helping matters by refusing to work until she achieves her dream of becoming an actress. Pam Nelson is struggling to deny the distance growing between her and her husband - which isn't helped by her secret attraction to their handsome new lodger. And unfortunately Pam isn't the only one to fall for his seductive charm... As the threat of a German invasion looms, the lives of the women on this south London street are about to change for ever...


Victory Girls (Lavender Road 6)

Victory Girls (Lavender Road 6)


Author : Helen Carey
Publisher : Hachette UK
Release Date :
ISBN : 1472231546
Pages : 384 pages
Rating Book: 4.7/5 (472 users)

Go Book

Filled with characters you'll fall in love with, VICTORY GIRLS is Helen Carey's new World War Two saga about the resilient residents of a south London street. Not to be missed by readers of Katie Flynn, Annie Murray and Lilian Harry. Praise for the Lavender Road novels: 'Funny, poignant, emotional and unputdownable' London Evening Standard August 1944. Allied troops are fighting their way across Europe. But rocket attacks on London are a chilling reminder that the war is far from over. Helen knows all too well how dangerous it is in war-torn France. But it's a long-time since she heard from her French fiancé, Andre, and nothing is going to stop her going back to track him down, before he is lost to her forever. Her friend Molly is finding it hard to stop thinking about the lovely Canadian pilot she met while nursing overseas, and the future she might have had, if only she had been good enough for him. Now Molly is back in London, determined to discover the truth about the mother who gave her up for adoption when she was four years old. Victory may be just round the corner, but the fighting is far from over for the women of Lavender Road. What readers are saying about VICTORY GIRLS: 'I laughed, cried and once again I found I just couldn't stop reading. Wonderful characters, a gripping storyline and great wartime detail' 'The girls' lives are embedded in fascinating historical detail and I almost felt I was a Lavender Road resident watching events unfold. The storyline is gripping right up to the final pages' 'The characters are finely drawn, and it was interesting to follow them on their various journeys. Excellent'


Some Sunny Day (Lavender Road 2)

Some Sunny Day (Lavender Road 2)


Author : Helen Carey
Publisher : Hachette UK
Release Date :
ISBN : 1472231457
Pages : 384 pages
Rating Book: 4.7/5 (472 users)

Go Book

In Helen Carey's poignant and nostalgic novel SOME SUNNY DAY, it's 1940, and two young women are growing up in a world full of drama and danger. Perfect reading for fans of Kate Thompson and Donna Douglas. September 1940 As Luftwaffe bombs rain from the skies over London, the women of Lavender Road are fighting their own battles. Shy Katy Parsons has always been sheltered by her over-protective parents. The war is her chance to see life from beyond her bedroom window. Enrolling as a nurse was always her dream, but the reality is tougher than she ever imagined. And falling in love isn't all plain sailing either... Privileged Louise Rutherford secretly hoped the war would bring her some fun and romance. But far it has brought her pain and grief, and now she has a secret... something her strict father must never find out about. London during the Blitz is a dangerous place to live but the Lavender Road residents never stop believing their sunny day will come.


The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)


Author : Helen Carey
Publisher : Hachette UK
Release Date :
ISBN : 1472231511
Pages : 384 pages
Rating Book: 4.7/5 (472 users)

Go Book

THE OTHER SIDE OF THE STREET is an irresistible, romantic and heart-warming saga of south London's women during the Second World War. 'A delightful experience... I can thoroughly recommend it' Ellie Dean It's 1944. Londoners are weary of air raids and rationing. But now, with rumours of an invasion of France, the tide of war seems to be turning. In Lavender Road, however, everyone still has challenges to face. Young widow Louise Rutherford longs to make a new life for herself. When a glamorous American officer arrives at her factory to recruit volunteers for a secret project, she senses an opportunity, only to find her efforts hampered by ten-year-old war orphan, George Nelson. Jen Carter's relationship with theatrical producer Henry Keller hits a hurdle when an old flame reappears. And when V1 retaliation rockets start hitting London, her mother Joyce's tentative romance is threatened too. Will the war finally wear down the women of Lavender Road, or can love thrive even in the toughest of times?


On A Wing And A Prayer (Lavender Road 3)

On A Wing And A Prayer (Lavender Road 3)


Author : Helen Carey
Publisher : Hachette UK
Release Date :
ISBN : 147223149X
Pages : 384 pages
Rating Book: 4.7/5 (472 users)

Go Book

ON A WING AND A PRAYER by Helen Carey is a nostalgic and heart-warming novel of south London during the Second World War. The perfect read for fans of Ellie Dean, Kate Thompson and Donna Douglas. October 1941. London has been ravaged by war for two years now and life couldn't be tougher for those living on Lavender Road. Many loved ones have been lost and sacrifices made, but Lady Helen de Burrel is about to take the biggest risk yet. Inspired by the courage of her friends on this south London street, Helen volunteers to join the Special Operations Executive and puts her life in jeopardy for the sake of her country. But it's hard to know who to trust, and when her heart is on the line even love becomes dangerous. The war has changed everything, but one thing is certain; the women of Lavender Road will rally together, no matter what the future has in store...


Singapore Street Names: A Study of Toponymics

Singapore Street Names: A Study of Toponymics


Author : Victor R Savage
Publisher : Marshall Cavendish International Asia Pte Ltd
Release Date :
ISBN : 9814484741
Pages : 434 pages
Rating Book: 4.1/5 (814 users)

Go Book

The definitive guide to place names in Singapore. Place names tell us much about a country – its history, its landscape, its people, its aspirations, its self-image. The study of place names, ‘toponymics’, unlocks the myriad interlocking stories that are encoded in every street and landmark. In Singapore, the coexistence of various races, cultures and languages, as well as its history of colonisation, immigration and nationalism, have given rise to a complex tapestry of place names. Alkaff Quay, Coleman Bridge, Ann Siang Hill, Bukit Merah – how did these places get their names? Nee Soon or Yishun? Serangoon Road or Tekka? First published in 2003 as Toponymics, this updated and expanded edition of the book incorporates a wealth of new findings, from archival research and interviews, and sets out to answer these questions – and any question that might be asked about the origin, meaning or significance of place names in Singapore


British Postal Guide

British Postal Guide


Author : Great Britain. Post Office
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 888 pages
Rating Book: 4.A/5 ( users)

Go Book


The Metallurgicon local directory. Wandsworth, Putney [&c.].

The Metallurgicon local directory. Wandsworth, Putney [&c.].


Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 400 pages
Rating Book: 4.D/5 ( users)

Go Book


Beeton's Brave tales, bold ballads, and travels and perils by land and sea, ed. by S.O. Beeton

Beeton's Brave tales, bold ballads, and travels and perils by land and sea, ed. by S.O. Beeton


Author : Samuel Orchart Beeton
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 1220 pages
Rating Book: 4.D/5 ( users)

Go Book


Appendix to the twenty-sixth (twenty-seventh, thirty-fifth-forty-seventh) report

Appendix to the twenty-sixth (twenty-seventh, thirty-fifth-forty-seventh) report


Author : Ecclesiastical commissioners
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.D/5 ( users)

Go Book


Life and Labour of the People in London: Streets and population classified

Life and Labour of the People in London: Streets and population classified


Author : Charles Booth
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 384 pages
Rating Book: 4.B/5 (4 users)

Go Book


Life and Labour of the People in London

Life and Labour of the People in London


Author : Charles Booth
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.3/5 (31 users)

Go Book


London and Its Environs ...

London and Its Environs ...


Author : Karl Baedeker (Firm)
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 460 pages
Rating Book: 4.O/5 ( users)

Go Book


London and Its Environs

London and Its Environs


Author : Karl Baedeker
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 460 pages
Rating Book: 4.4/5 (148 users)

Go Book


London and Its Environs, Including Excursions to Brighton, the Isle of Wight, Etc

London and Its Environs, Including Excursions to Brighton, the Isle of Wight, Etc


Author : Karl Baedeker (Firm)
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 398 pages
Rating Book: 4.R/5 ( users)

Go Book


Longman Atlas

Longman Atlas


Author : Pearson Education Asia Pte. Ltd
Publisher : Pearson Education South Asia
Release Date :
ISBN : 9789814098595
Pages : 180 pages
Rating Book: 4.9/5 (98 users)

Go Book


Rats Alley

Rats Alley


Author : Peter Chasseaud
Publisher : The History Press
Release Date :
ISBN : 0750984902
Pages : 768 pages
Rating Book: 4.5/5 (75 users)

Go Book

When first published in 2006, Rats Alley was a ground-breaking piece of research, the first-ever study of trench names of the Western Front. Now, in this fully updated and revised second edition, the gazetteer has been extended to well over 20,000 trench names, complete with map references – in itself an essential tool for any First World War researcher. However, combined with the finely considered history and analysis of trench naming during the First World War, this is an edition that no military history enthusiast should be without. Discover when, how and why British trenches were first named and follow the names’ fascinating development throughout the First World War, alongside details of French and German trench-naming practices. Looked at from both contemporary and modern points of view, the names reveal the full horror of trench warfare and throw an extraordinary sidelight on the cultural life of the period, and the landscape and battles of the Western Front. Names such as Lovers Lane, Idiot Corner, Cyanide Trench, Crazy Redoubt, Doleful Post, Furies Trench, Peril Avenue, Lunatic Sap and Gangrene Alley can be placed in context. With useful information on where original trench maps are held, and how to obtain copies, Rats Alley is a vital volume for both military and family historians.