The Concubine's Child

The Concubine's Child


Author : Carol Jones
Publisher : Head of Zeus Ltd
Release Date :
ISBN : 178669980X
Pages : 320 pages
Rating Book: 4.8/5 (786 users)

Go Book

An evocative, multi-generational tale of a family haunted by the death of a young concubine. For fans of Dinah Jefferies and Amy Tan. In 1930s Malaya a sixteen-year-old girl, dreaming of marriage to her sweetheart, is sold as a concubine to a rich old man desperate for an heir. Trapped, and bullied by his spiteful wife, Yu Lan plans to escape with her baby son, despite knowing that they will pursue her to the ends of the earth. Four generations later, her great-grandson, Nick, will return to Malaysia, looking for the truth behind the facade of a house cursed by the unhappy past. Nothing can prepare him for what he will find. This exquisitely rich novel brings to life a vanished world – a world of abandoned ghost houses, inquisitive monkeys, smoky temples and a panoply of gods and demons. A world where a poor girl can be sold to fulfil a rich man's dream. But though he can buy her body, he can never capture her soul, nor quench her spirit. WHAT READERS ARE SAYING: 'Compelling, atmospheric and emotional' 'Well-written, compelling ... A tale of duty, treachery, misery and superstition' 'Wonderfully drawn characters, searing emotion, powerful intensity and nail-biting drama'.


The Concubine's Children

The Concubine's Children


Author : Denise Chong
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date :
ISBN : 9780140255140
Pages : 292 pages
Rating Book: 4.5/5 (255 users)

Go Book

"Carefully balancing cool observation and compassion, Chong writes extraordinary history and gives voice to the Chinese immigrant experience."--ALA Booklist.


The Concubine's Children

The Concubine's Children


Author : Denise Chong
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 266 pages
Rating Book: 4.1/5 (11 users)

Go Book


Legal Status in Hong Kong of a Concubine's Child

Legal Status in Hong Kong of a Concubine's Child


Author : Mya Saw Shin
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 4 pages
Rating Book: 4.2/5 (2 users)

Go Book


The Concubine's Children [sound Recording] : Portrait of a Family Divided

The Concubine's Children [sound Recording] : Portrait of a Family Divided


Author : Denise Chong
Publisher : Burnaby, B.C. : Library Services Branch
Release Date :
ISBN : 9780140254273
Pages : 292 pages
Rating Book: 4.5/5 (254 users)

Go Book


Cyclopaedia of Biblical, Theological, and Ecclesiastical Literature

Cyclopaedia of Biblical, Theological, and Ecclesiastical Literature


Author : John McClintock
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 952 pages
Rating Book: 4.R/5 ( users)

Go Book


Cyclopædia of Biblical, Theological, and Ecclesiastical Literature

Cyclopædia of Biblical, Theological, and Ecclesiastical Literature


Author : John McClintock
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.0/5 (3 users)

Go Book


The Modern Classics:concubine's Children

The Modern Classics:concubine's Children


Author : Denise Chong
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN : 9780143192091
Pages : 288 pages
Rating Book: 4.9/5 (192 users)

Go Book

The Concubine's Children is the story of a family cleaved in two for the sake of a father's dream. In 1913, Chan Sam left an "at home" wife in China to earn a living in "Gold Mountain." Eleven years later, May-ying, the wilful, seventeen-year-old concubine he bought, sight unseen, travels to join him where she labors in tea houses of west coast Chinatowns to support the family in Canada, and the one in China. It was the concubine's third daughter, the author's mother, who unlocked the past for her daughter whose curiosity about some old photographs ultimately reunited a family divided for most of the last century. Heartfelt and beautifully written, The Concubine's Children is an inspiring story of the sacrifice that tore a family apart and the love that bound them back together.


The Concubine's Children

The Concubine's Children


Author : Denise Chong
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN : 9780143056195
Pages : 301 pages
Rating Book: 4.5/5 (56 users)

Go Book

"Finalist for the 1994 Governor General's Award" "The Concubine's Children" is the story of a family cleaved in two for the sake of a father's dream. There's Chan Sam, who left an "at home" wife in China to earn a living in "Gold Mountain"--North America. There's May-ying, the wilful, seventeen-year-old concubine he bought, sight unseen, who labored in tea houses of west coast Chinatowns to support the family he would have in Canada, and the one he had in China. It was the concubine's third daughter, the author's mother, who unlocked the past for her daughter, whose curiosity about some old photographs ultimately reunited a family divided for most of the last century.


Sessional Papers of the Dominion of Canada

Sessional Papers of the Dominion of Canada


Author : Canada. Parliament
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 880 pages
Rating Book: 4.5/5 (355 users)

Go Book

"Report of the Dominion fishery commission on the fisheries of the province of Ontario, 1893", issued as vol. 26, no. 7, supplement.


The Changes of the Vietnamese Family in the Red River Delta

The Changes of the Vietnamese Family in the Red River Delta


Author : Văn Bích Phạm
Publisher : Sociologiska Institutionen G'Oteborgs Universitet
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 386 pages
Rating Book: 4.9/5 (39 users)

Go Book


Hitchcock's New and Complete Analysis of the Holy Bible

Hitchcock's New and Complete Analysis of the Holy Bible


Author : Roswell Dwight Hitchcock
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 1159 pages
Rating Book: 4.1/5 (312 users)

Go Book


Hitchcock's New and Complete Analysis of the Holy Bible: Or, The Whole of the Old and New Testaments Arranged According to Subjects in Twenty-seven Books

Hitchcock's New and Complete Analysis of the Holy Bible: Or, The Whole of the Old and New Testaments Arranged According to Subjects in Twenty-seven Books


Author : Roswell Dwight Hitchcock
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 1159 pages
Rating Book: 4.0/5 ( users)

Go Book


U.S.-Japan Women's Journal

U.S.-Japan Women's Journal


Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.0/5 ( users)

Go Book


The Children of China

The Children of China


Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : 212 pages
Rating Book: 4.B/5 (4 users)

Go Book


中國文化集刊

中國文化集刊


Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.0/5 ( users)

Go Book


Proceedings - American Academy for Jewish Research

Proceedings - American Academy for Jewish Research


Author : American Academy for Jewish Research
Publisher :
Release Date :
ISBN :
Pages : pages
Rating Book: 4.9/5 (39 users)

Go Book

Includes list of members.